NCAA College World Series
Every June, the NCAA Men’s College World Series turns Omaha, Nebraska, into the center of the baseball universe. The College World Series was first played in Kalamazoo, Michigan, in 1947, moved to Wichita, Kansas, in 1949, and found its home in Omaha in 1950. After outgrowing its longtime home at Johnny Rosenblatt Stadium, the College World Series moved to TD Ameritrade Park Omaha, which is capable of hosting more than 25,000 baseball fans.

Of the more than 290 college teams competing in Division I baseball, only 64 make it into the NCAA Baseball Championship: 31 conference champions and 33 at-large teams chosen by committee. Regional and Super Regional tournaments dwindle the field to eight teams that advance to Omaha and play for the College World Series title. The College World Series has featured future Major Leaguers like Robin Ventura, Will Clark, Dave Winfield, Barry Larkin and Mike Schmidt. The championship even featured a future president of the United States: in 1947 and 1948 George H.W. Bush was first baseman and captain of Yale’s team.