The Iron Bowl Rivalry
Few collegiate football rivalries match the passion shared between the fans of the University of Alabama Crimson Tide and the Auburn University Tigers. For many years, this game was played in Birmingham, Ala., where it was dubbed the “Iron Bowl” because of the city’s historic role in the steel industry.

The intense rivalry between Tide and Tigers began at their very first game on February 22, 1893, when the schools disagreed on whether the game counted towards the 1892 season or 1893 season. Their feelings of ill will grew over the next decade, leading to the series being suspended in 1907. The two schools would not play one another again for 41 years. The hiatus came to an end with a resolution from the Alabama House of Representatives that forced them to resume the series in 1948. For the next 40 years, the two schools battled one another on Birmingham’s Legion Field. But, as Auburn and Alabama expanded their on-campus stadiums, the Iron Bowl became a campus-to-campus series, with odd years taking place at Auburn’s Jordan-Hare Stadium and even years at Alabama’s Bryant-Denny Stadium.

Bragging rights associated with the Iron Bowl have increased with each passing football season. Although Alabama leads the overall series, in recent years, the game has carried SEC and national championship implications for both schools. From 2009 to 2012 the winner of the Iron Bowl went on to win the BCS National Championship.