The Orange Bowl
Played annually in Miami since January 1, 1935, the Orange Bowl has long been associated with the pinnacle of college football. As the second oldest college football bowl game, the Orange Bowl’s Hall of Fame list reads like a “who’s who” of the game’s most iconic players and coaches. The New Year’s Holiday bowl game has seen historic coaches like Bear Bryant, Bobby Bowden, Lou Holtz and Steve Spurrier on its sidelines. Some of college football’s greatest players have also appeared in the Orange Bowl, including NFL Hall of Famers Joe Namath, Bart Starr and Michael Irvin and current NFL stars like Tom Brady and Peyton Manning.

The Orange Bowl has hosted 20 National Champions at its games and 17 Heisman Trophy winners. Some of college football’s most iconic games have taken place in the Orange Bowl, including the epic 1984 Miami win over Nebraska and the 1965 Texas win over national champion Alabama when Namath was stopped inches short of the goal line on a crucial fourth down play, in the first major sporting event ever televised live in prime time.

Coaching milestones achieved in the Orange Bowl through the years include Jimmy Johnson’s national championship game win in 1987, Bobby Bowden’s first national championship in the 1994 game and Tom Osborne’s first and last national championships in 1995 and 1998.